The Massachusetts Historical Commission

The continuing presence of historic properties in Massachusetts immeasurably enhances the quality of our lives; they help to establish our sense of place and to define the very character of our communities. To meet the challenge of preserving this important heritage, the Massachusetts Historical Commission (MHC) was established by the legislature in 1963* to identify, evaluate, and protect important historical and archaeological assets of the Commonwealth.

The Commission consists of 17 members appointed from various disciplines who serve as the State Review Board for state and federal preservation programs. The Commission is Chaired by Secretary of the Commonwealth William Francis Galvin.

The professional staff of the Commission includes historians, architects, archaeologists, geographers, and preservation planners. The state's preservation programs are administered through MHC's Preservation Planning, Grants, and Technical Services Divisions.

The MHC is the office of the State Historic Preservation Officer, as well as the office of the State Archaeologist.

*(MGL Ch. 9 Sections 26-27D enabling legislation)

Commission Members

William Francis Galvin, Secretary of the Commonwealth; Chair, Massachusetts Historical Commission — John Rosenberry, Designee

MA Department of Conservation & Recreation — Patrice Kish, Designee

MA Department of Housing & Community Development — Cyrus Field, Designee

MA Department of Business & Technology — Jonathan Cosco, Designee

Museum of African American History — Kellie Carter Jackson

Society of Architectural Historians (New England Chapter) — Dennis DeWitt

American Antiquarian Society — Barbara Levy

American Institute of Architects (Massachusetts Chapter) — James Crissman

Massachusetts Archaeological Society — Suanna Selby Crowley

Old Sturbridge Village — Caitlin Emery Avenia

The Trustees of Reservations — Mark Wilson

Society for the Preservation of New England Antiquities/Historic New England — Charles Sullivan

New England Historic Genealogical Society — Donald R. Friary

Massachusetts Historical Society — Gavin Kleespies

Home Builders Association of Massachusetts — Michael McDowell

Governor’s Appointee — George Bell

Governor’s Appointee — Anne Pride