Sunshine Week « March 12-18, 2017

Updated Public Records Law
By the Tlumbers [ . ainsyNe

The updates to the Massachusetts Public

Records Law (Law) became effective on E W E E K

.January 1, 20?7. NeYV changes to the Law YOUR RIGHT TO KNOW
include: specified time periods for the

Supervisor of Records (Supervisor) to issue

determinations on public records appeals, limits on fees permitted to be
charged by government Records Access Officers (RAOs) and requirements for
state agencies to track and report public records request information. Take a
look below at how the updated Law has had an effect so far:

Increase in Supervisor determinations issued from
January 1st-March 1st

When a requester is denied access to
to the Supervisor to determine
the public status of the requested
records. In part due to the new M
requirement for the Supervisor to
issue determinations on appeals m
within 10 business days, the
Secretary of the Commonwealth’s
Public Records Division has seen a
significant increase in the number of
these appeals closed in the first two
months of 2017 compared with the

same time period in previous years.

Lookback: Supervisor of Records Appeals Opened

More appeals have been opened in these first two months of the updated Law than in the entire
first year the Supervisor issued determinations!
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Appeal Breakdown

Requesters are denied access to
records for a number of reasons.
The majority of appeals received by
the Public Records Division so far in
2017 have been due to requesters
appealing non-responses as well as
the exemptions claimed by RAOs.

. Fees: 24

‘ Non-response: 92
. Exemptions Claimed: 62
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cases closed in
the first two

months of
2017

Unsatisfactory Response: 55
(not all records provided, etc.)

‘ Attorney Client Privilege: 5

Time Taken to Issue Supervisor’s Determination

Under the new Law, the Supervisor must issue a determination on an appeal within 10
business days of receipt. While a number of the cases require the full 10 business days for the
Supervisor to issue a determination, determinations in the majority of appeals in the first two
months of 2017 have been issued in 3 business days or less.
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Exemptions Claimed

RAOs may withhold access to records if the records fall under one or more of the exemptions
to disclosure. Exemptions are lettered (a)-(u) and can all be found at M.G.L. c. 4, § 7(26).
Statutory Exemptions (a) and the privacy Exemption (c) were most commonly claimed by
RAOs in the first two months of 2017.
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Public records
rarely allowed to
be withheld in

their entirety

In Massachusetts, the
presumption is that
government records are
public. An RAO has the
burden to establish why
requested records fall
under an exemption and
may be withheld. In the
first two months of 2017,
the Supervisor permitted
government RAOs to withhold
requested records in their entirety
in only 3.86% of determinations.

RAOs allowed
to withhold records
in their entirety in

3.86%

of determinations

All of the determinations issued by the Supervisor are public and available on the
Secretary of the Commonwealth’s website at: www.sec.state.ma.us/pre.

For more information on the Public Records Law, please read the
Guide to the Massachusetts Public Records Law available at:
www.sec.state.ma.us/pre/prepdf/guide.pdf.

For any questions about the Public Records Law, please contact the
Secretary of the Commonwealth’s Public Records Division at
617-727-2832 or pre@sec.state.ma.us.




