2012 Information For Voters

How to Register to Vote

Who may register?

Only a person who is:

  • a U.S. citizen, and
  • a resident of Massachusetts, and
  • 18 years old on or before election day, and
  • not currently incarcerated for a felony conviction.

When can I register to vote?

There is no waiting period to be eligible to register to vote. As soon as you consider your address your “home,” you may register to vote from that address. Please note that anytime you move, you must re-register. If you move, you may register to vote as soon as you move into your new home.

The deadline to register to vote for the November 6th State Election is October 17th. Any mail-in voter registration form must be postmarked by October 17, 2012 to be eligible to vote in the November 6, 2012 State Election.

How can I register to vote?

In Person: Go to any registration location, such as your city or town hall, and complete an affidavit of registration. Upon completion of the form, you will be provided with a receipt which is proof of your registration. You should keep that receipt until you receive an acknowledgement notice in the mail, which should arrive within 2 to 3 weeks.

By Mail: Mail-in registration forms are widely available. You can download a mail-in form or you can call call 617-727-2828 or 1-800-462-VOTE (8683) and a form will be sent to you. Mail the completed form to your local city or town hall. You should receive an acknowledgment notice in 2 to 3 weeks. If you do not, please contact your local election office to verify your voting status.

At the Registry of Motor Vehicles: While applying for or renewing a driver’s license at the RMV, you can complete a voter registration application. Check your motor voter receipt before you leave—it will indicate whether you registered to vote or not. Keep your motor voter receipt until you receive confirmation from your local election official. If you do not receive any confirmation, please contact your local election office to verify your voting status.

What must I do if I’ve changed my address since I registered?

If you have moved, you must register again. You may register to vote as soon as you move into your new home. Download a voter registration form.

Do I need to attach identification to my voter registration form?

Yes, if you are registering to vote for the first time in Massachusetts. The Help America Vote Act of 2002 passed by Congress requires that if you registered to vote by mail on or after January 1, 2003, you will be required to show identification when you vote for the first time in a federal election since registering by mail in 2003, or you can send in a copy of your identification with your voter registration form.

Acceptable identification must include your name and the address at which you are registered to vote, for example: a current and valid driver’s license, photo identification, current utility bill, bank statement, paycheck, government check, or other government document showing your name and the address at which you are registered to vote. If you send in a copy of your identification with your mail-in voter registration form, it may not be returned to you.

What should I do if I registered to vote and I have not heard from my local election official?

If you have NOT received confirmation of your voter status from your city or town election official within 2 or 3 weeks from the date you registered, please contact your local election office to verify your voting status.