Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Citizens' Guide to State Services

Published by
William Francis Galvin
Secretary of the Commonwealth
Citizen Information Service

Children: Child Passenger Safety and Injury Prevention

B6 Child Passenger Safety Program

B7 Injury Prevention and Control Program


B6 Child Passenger Safety Program
Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
Tel: 617-727-7775
Toll Free: 1-877-392-5956
www.mass.gov/eopss/crime-prev-personal-sfty/traffic-safety/cps

All passengers in vehicles must wear seat belts. Violators must pay a $25.00 fine if a driver is stopped for a motor vehicle infraction and an officer finds that any passenger is not wearing a seat belt. Under the combined safety and emissions inspection regulations, safety belts are required for motor vehicles where such safety belts were installed as original equipment. In addition, each passenger over 16 years of age not properly fastened in will be fined individually. Children five years of age or under must be protected with an approved child passenger restraint such as an infant, toddler, convertible, or booster seat until they reach 80 lbs. Under the Child Passenger Safety Law, M.G.L. ch. 90, s. 7AA, passengers who are under age eight years old must be fastened and secured by a child passenger restraint, (child or booster seat as appropriate) unless such passenger measures more than 57 inches in height. The child passenger restraint shall be properly fastened and secured according to manufacturer's instruction. Unless required to be secured by a child passenger restraint device such as a child or booster seat, all children less than 13 years of age shall wear a seat belt adjusted and fastened according to manufacturer's instructions. Child passenger restraint devices are specifically designed seating system which meets the US Department of Transportation Federal Motor Vehicle Safety. For inspections of car seats please contact the toll free number listed above.


B7 Injury and Prevention Control Program
Department of Public Health
250 Washington Street, 4th floor
Boston, MA 02108
Tel: 617-624-5557
Massachusetts/R.I. Regional Poison Control Center Toll Free: 1-800-222-1222
TTY Poison Control Center Toll Free: 1-800-244-5313
Fax: 617-624-5075
www.mass.gov/dph/injury

The goals of the Injury Control and Prevention Program (IPCP) are to promote reduction in the incidence of residential, recreational, school, traffic, and intentional injuries among Massachusetts residents, and to improve emergency medical services for children. Services include program development, training, health education, technical assistance, data analysis, and reporting, coalition building and public information efforts for health professionals, state and community agencies, educators, law enforcement officers and others. The IPCP provides injury data and related technical assistance, conducts periodic analysis and reporting of fatal and nonfatal injury data, and evaluates the implementation and effectiveness of injury control programs and materials. The Massachusetts Poison Control Center, a public-private partnership, located at the Boston Children's Hospital, operates a statewide, toll-free, twenty-four hour a day phone line for poisoning emergencies and poison information. The Center is linked to the AT&T Language Line providing access to interpreters in over 100 languages.


Go back to the:

Citizens' Guide to State Services Table of Contents

Search Citizens Information Service Home PageHome Page of the Secretary of the Commonwealth